Personal Loans
· BroaderAngle Editorial Team

BroaderAngle is an independent financial comparison platform. We may earn a commission when you click through.

DBBL vs EBL Personal Loans: Rate, Term, and Cost

DBBL starts at 8.10%, while EBL offers up to BDT 40 lakh and 96 months. Compare fees, eligibility, guarantees, and repayment risk.

Advertisement

You're choosing between Dutch-Bangla Bank and Eastern Bank. The rate gap looks small on paper, but the loan ceiling, repayment length, guarantees, and fee structure change the real cost. DBBL starts with a disclosed base rate of 8.10%, while EBL reaches BDT 40 lakh with terms as long as 96 months.

For a smaller loan and broad branch access, DBBL has the edge. For a larger balance or a longer repayment schedule, EBL is more capable. Neither advertised rate should be treated as a guaranteed APR.

Rates and terms shown are representative. Your actual rate depends on your credit profile and circumstances. This is not financial advice — always read the lender's terms before applying.

Quick comparison

FeatureDBBL Personal LoanEBL Executive Loan
Published rateBase rate of 8.10%9%–11% rate range
Loan amountBDT 50,000–20 lakhUp to BDT 40 lakh
Maximum termNot stated in the supplied page content96 months
GuaranteeEmployer service requirements applyOne personal guarantor required
Processing fee0.50%–1.00%Not stated in the supplied page content
Comparing two personal loan offers

Lower starting rate, smaller borrowing range

The published numbers favor DBBL at the starting line. According to the Dutch-Bangla Bank loan calculator, the product covers BDT 50,000 to BDT 20 lakh and lists a base rate of 8.10%. That is below EBL's disclosed 9%–11% range, although a base rate is not the same as a final borrower rate.

Dutch-Bangla Bank Personal Loan

DBBL is the rate-led pick for borrowers needing no more than BDT 20 lakh. Its 8.10% base rate is the lowest published starting figure in this comparison, and the bank's wide ATM and POS network reduces the practical burden of branch access. The price of that convenience is a 0.50% to 1.00% processing fee, plus an eligibility check tied to current employer service length. Best for salaried borrowers seeking a moderate loan amount from a bank with broad nationwide access.

You will stay on this site

DBBL's calculator is useful for estimating installments, but its own page describes the result as a calculation tool rather than a binding offer. That matters: the monthly figure can change once the lender confirms the applicable rate, fees, income, and employment history. The processing fee alone ranges from BDT 250 on a BDT 50,000 loan to BDT 10,000 on a BDT 20 lakh loan at the stated percentages.

EBL costs more at the starting rate, yet its ceiling is twice DBBL's. A borrower who needs BDT 25 lakh cannot solve that gap by negotiating a smaller fee; DBBL simply does not list that amount in the supplied terms.

EBL Executive Loan

EBL gives up some rate advantage in exchange for much greater borrowing capacity: up to BDT 40 lakh and a maximum 96-month term. The eligibility net is also wider, covering salaried applicants, self-employed borrowers, professionals, and landlords, though employer categorization affects the rate and non-categorized employers face a BDT 30,000 income threshold. One personal guarantor is required. Best for professionals or self-employed applicants who need a large unsecured loan and want to spread repayment over as long as eight years.

You will stay on this site

The EBL Executive Loan page describes the product as unsecured and available to several income groups, but the longer term deserves careful scrutiny. A 96-month schedule lowers the monthly payment, not the total interest. For a borrower who can afford a shorter term, paying for eight years may cost more even at a similar nominal rate.

That is the central comparison: DBBL is cheaper at the entry rate and sufficient for loans up to BDT 20 lakh; EBL is more flexible for amount and tenure. The better product depends less on the headline rate than on how much you borrow and how quickly you can repay it.

Comparing loan repayment terms

When guarantees and processing time change the decision

Rate is only one gate. Documentation and approval friction can matter more if the loan is tied to a medical bill, education payment, or debt consolidation deadline.

Rupali Bank Shohoj Rin

Rupali Bank's Shohoj Rin is the outlier here because the supplied page describes it for cottage and manufacturing activities rather than a general-purpose consumer loan. Its 9.00% variable rate and BDT 10 lakh maximum look attractive, but personal and third-party guarantees are required, and the rate may change quarterly. Best for a borrower whose financing purpose fits the stated productive-activity scope, who can provide acceptable guarantees, and who can tolerate variable installments.

You will stay on this site

Rupali is included as a boundary case, not a direct substitute for DBBL or EBL. The product's stated purpose is narrower, its maximum is BDT 10 lakh, and its variable rate creates repayment uncertainty that neither of the two main comparison cards presents in the supplied material. Borrowers seeking an ordinary personal loan should verify product eligibility before spending time on an application.

For a general personal borrowing need, DBBL is easier to justify at a smaller amount. EBL becomes more persuasive once the requested sum exceeds DBBL's BDT 20 lakh ceiling or the applicant needs a term longer than five years—though EBL's exact processing fees should be confirmed directly because they are not provided in the source material.

The verdict

DBBL wins for smaller, rate-sensitive personal loans. Choose it if you need BDT 50,000 to BDT 20 lakh, have the required employment history, and value extensive ATM and branch coverage. The 8.10% base rate is the strongest starting figure here, but budget for a 0.50%–1.00% processing fee and confirm the final rate.

EBL wins for larger borrowing and longer repayment. Choose it if you need more than BDT 20 lakh, are self-employed or a landlord, or need up to 96 months to manage the installment. The higher rate range and personal-guarantor requirement are the price of that flexibility.

Rupali Bank belongs in a separate lane: its 9.00% variable Shohoj Rin is relevant only when the stated cottage or manufacturing purpose and guarantee requirements fit. BroaderAngle is a comparison service, not a lender. No application happens on this site; verify country-specific eligibility, fees, and final pricing with the licensed lender before signing.

You might also like

Age 22-60 (salaried), up to 65 (self-employed)

Minimum income BDT 20,000-30,000/month

1 year with current employer or 1 year practice

⚡ 2-3 business days View offer →

APR

9.0–11.0%

Term

12–96mo

Monthly

~৳1465

Amount

৳100k–৳4M

Government employee or approved employer

Personal guarantee and third-party guarantee

Age 21-57

⚡ 5-7 business days View offer →

APR

9.0%

Term

12–48mo

Monthly

~৳1244

Amount

৳50k–৳1M

Age 21-60

Minimum income BDT 20,000/month

Employed at categorized company

⚡ 5-7 business days View offer →

APR

15.0%

Term

12–60mo

Monthly

~৳1189

Amount

৳50k–৳2M

Age 23-65 at maturity

Minimum income BDT 25,000/month

Salaried executive at approved organization

⚡ 3-5 business days View offer →

APR

14.5%

Term

12–60mo

Monthly

~৳1176

Amount

৳50k–৳2M

More articles